Morganics is Morvegan

Morganics and Morvegan. Working with those two names for the “food breaks,” but I like them both too much. Whatever.

Anyway, today’s break from fancy words and theologies is a raw/no-bake delight where I threw all I had on hand into my primitive two speed food processor. The inspiration comes from the raw crust I made for a cashew cheesecake because my mother, who is not keen on “raw” things LOVED the crust, so I went out to make little bites that have a slightly different flavor.

mporter-2

When making them, I did not know what to use, so I pulled out quite a bit of ingredients, littering the counters with crumbs and the like. After pulverizing some of the ingredients in my tiny processor, it came to a stop and would not move. Oh golly. So I had to pour out what I had mixed, which had huge chunks of nuts in it and began mixing it in batches. By the end, I had completely messed up the kitchen with food particles, pantry door ajar, measuring spoons everywhere. It was a mess. Oh well! At least we can more or less clean up those messes.

mporter-4

A fair warning to those who make these: they are highly addictive. You will want to make more after the first batch. I guess if you make them, it’s a good way to practice discipline and control desires to eat the entire concoction. Haha.

mporter-1

Coconut No-Bake Oatmeal Bites

> 1/4 cup rolled oats ground into a flour
> 1/2 cup medjool dates, chopped and unpitted
> 1/4 cup almonds
> 1/4 cup cashews
> 3-4 tbsp unsweetened coconut
> 1/2 tsp cinnamon
> pinch of nutmeg, cloves, and ginger
> 1 tsp vanilla

If you, unlike me, have a bigger, more powerful processor, place all the ingredients into the processor’s container and pulverize until desired texture. Now form the dough into little balls or bars and place them in some form of tray or tupperware, preferably on top of a sheet of parchment or wax paper to prevent sticking. Cover the now completed “cookies” and refrigerate. Eat within three days, if there is any left by that time.

mporter-3

